The 7 Days of Breakfast: Day 7

It’s the 7th and final day of breakfast! Today we’re doing a classic breakfast food: omelettes! It took me a VERY long time to master the tedious task of flipping one side of the omelette onto the other, but I finally did it, and hopefully I can show you how to do it too!

Ever since I was a kid, we’d have omelettes for dinner at least once a week, and because we only have one pan that is round enough to be worthy of making omelettes, they would have to be made one at a time. This resulted in my mother yelling, “Who wants the first omelette of *insert whatever day of the week it is here*?” And then my sister and I would argue over who got the first omelette of the day. Even though we’re 15 and 18 now, we still argue, for old time’s sake.

The Omelette Pan (I'm sure you could probably call it vintage by now)
The Omelette Pan (I’m sure you could probably call it vintage by now)

Omelettes are great for any meal, but I thought I’d feature them in the last post in my ‘7 Days of Breakfast’ series. They’re very versatile and easy to make (aside from the dreaded ‘flip-over’, as I like to call it). And if all else fails, just scramble it!

Ingredients:

2 eggs

Cheese (I usually go for cheddar or feta)

Any fillings you want (tomatoes, onions, spinach, avocado, mushrooms, bacon, chicken, really anything you want)

IMG_5480
I used some tomatoes, spinach, and cheddar.

Directions:

Crack the eggs into a bowl and whisk them up with a fork. Add a splash (about 1 tablespoon) of water. That’ll make it fluffier. Make sure you spray your pan, and when the pan is hot enough, pour on your egg mixture. Swirl the pan around so that it gets evenly distributed. You want to wait until the top of the egg starts to ‘set’ to add your toppings. You’ll know it’s set when it doesn’t jiggle anymore. Then layer on whatever toppings you have on one half, and let it cook for a tad longer. Here comes the fun part: flipping it to look like an omelette. You want to run the edge of your flipping utensil underneath the edge of the side that has no toppings to make sure it’s not going to stick. Then shove the flipper underneath, trying to cover the most area possible, and flip it on top of the other half. When it’s cooked to your liking, slide it onto a plate and enjoy with some toast!

IMG_5485 IMG_5489

I hope you’ve enjoyed the 7 Days of Breakfast series, and thank you for reading! Stay tuned for some new, different posts!xoxo

Leave a Reply

